Eric Funk


Eric Funk is an American contemporary classical composer and conductor. Originally from Deer Lodge, Montana, he currently resides in Bozeman, Montana, where he teaches music courses at Montana State University.

(Cover photo courtesy Rick Smith/Montana PBS)

Newly completed works include:

  • “The Golden Triangle, Op 153” - vocalise for soprano voice & two double basses

  • “naIVurtIV, Op 151” for unaccompanied double bass:

  • "Melisma, Op 147", for solo violin, homage and farewell to our dear friend, Andre Melief (Eric Funk composer, Vilmos Olah, violin)

  • "Flyswatter, Raid, & Deet", transcription of three original bebop jazz tunes, created for The Ahn Trio (violin, cello, piano)

  • "Syrinx's Century-Late Echo, Op 146", unaccompanied double bass, written for Syrinx Project, 100th year anniversary of Claude Debussy's death

  • "Les Soeurs, Op 142", ballet music, commissioned by The James Sewell Ballet Company & The Ahn Trio

  • "Trochu Rondo, Op 141", for solo double bass, composed for PostaFest (Prague)

  • "A Little While, Op 143", for soprano voice, double bass, piano; setting of a poem by the same name written by Emily Bronte

  • "Aria, Op 144", for solo double bass, written for TeppoFest, Helsinki, Finland; inspired by a poem by Finnish poet Jouni Inkala; composed for Teppo Haute-Aho;

  • "The Morton Cycle, Op 128", for baritone voice and small chamber ensemble; settings of five poems by Bruce Morton

  • "Harriet Jacobs: A Tribute, Op 129", for mezzo soprano & orchestra; texts taken from Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl, Harriet Jacobs (1861)

  • "Angella, Op 130", for violin and piano; composed for Angella Ahn

  • " 'I am the last man on earth and I cannot remember my name', Op 131" for tenor voice and percussion, composed for Payton MacDonald's Continental Divide bicycle tour and film "Sonic Divide"

  • " 'So hallowed and so gracious is the time', Op 132", setting of Act I, sc 1 of Hamlet, SSATB a capella

  • "Choral Concerto, Op 133", a cappella SSAATTBB, text by Murray Steinman

  • "On Borrowed Time, Op 137" for violin and string orchestra, commissioned by and written for violinist Michael Certalic

  • "Trees, Op 138" ballet music for voices and two pianos; settings of texts by Richard Powers

  • "Variations on a Theme by Jan Hanus, Op 127" for violin & string orchestra, commissioned for the 100th Birthday Celebrations of the life and music of Jan Hanus, premiered at Martinu Hall, Lichtenstein Palace, Prague, Czech Republic, October 22, 2015 with Roman Patocka, vln, Pavel Hula, conducting the Prague Camerata:

  • Vili: Concerto for the Violin Alone, Op. 109”, premiered in Budapest, Hungary in 2012 and the subject of a 2017 PBS documentary, “The Violin Alone.”

  • The Old Masters, Op. 121” – music for three string quartets, commissioned by the Cassatt String Quartet [NY], premiers sponsored in part by a New Music USA composer-in-residence appointments in both Midland-Odessa [TX] and the Hot Spring Music Fesitval [ARK] -- (Listen below)

  • "The Men, Op. 119" – four-act opera for two baritones, male chorus, brass choir and percussion ensemble, based on Frankenstein, Cyrano de Bergerac, Don Quixote and The Dear Theo letters

  • "A Montana Winter, Op. 125" – string orchestra; commissioned by String Orchestra of the Rockies

  • "Duobolique, Op. 126" – music for trumpet, trombone, marimba

  • "Variations on a Theme by Jan Hanus, Op. 127" [2012-13]

  • "Vili: Double Concerto for the Violin Alone & Orchestra, Op. 128" [2013]


Copyright Eric Funk, 2013