Eric Funk


Eric Funk is an American contemporary classical composer and conductor. Originally from Deer Lodge, Montana, he currently resides in Bozeman, Montana, where he teaches music courses at Montana State University.

(Cover photo courtesy Rick Smith/Montana PBS)


piano trio:

      Les Soeurs, Op 142 for violin, violoncello, & piano; commissioned by the James Sewell Ballet Company & The Ahn Trio; music for dance (premiered November 2017 Minneapolis)


Variations on a Theme by Jan Hanus, Op 127 for violin & string orchestra

    Vili: concerto for the violin alone, Op 109

    Angella, Op 130 for violin and piano


  • Pentamorous (1977): one-movement theater piece

  • Romantic Impressions (1984): five movements


  • Mantis (1976): brass choir, two movements

  • Two Canons (1979): brass quintet, two movements


  • The Troll Bridge (1979) brass quintet

  • Ballade and Dance (1980): brass choir, two movements

  • Célèbre (1982): fanfare for brass choir, one movement

  • Equinox (1985): double brass quintet (antiphonal); one movement


  • Five Dance Miniatures (1979): guitar, piano and percussion, five movements

  • Meditations (1979), guitar and string quartet

  • Sonata for Guitar and Piano (1980): two movements

  • Les Frères (1983): piano, guitar and percussion, three movements


  • The Accompanist, Op. 112 [2010] 3 movements, vocalise for sop & piano/piano solo

  • “Your Beautiful Blue Eyes," Op 114 Duo for Flute and Piano (1969): two movements

  • Nocturne for Piano (1971): two movements

  • Two Preludes (1972): piano and percussion, two players, two movements

  • Pieces (1973): seven easy pieces for piano

  • Virtuoso (1975): solo pianist on two pianos, a comic piece in one movement

  • Portrait of John (1980) four movements

  • Le Troisième Enfant (“Baroque Variations”) (1983): piano trio, five movements

  • Music for Piano (1971-1983): short pieces, ranging from easy to difficult

  • Romantic Impressions (1982)

  • Variations on a Theme by Tomas Svoboda (1985)

  • Baroque Variations (1991)

  • Concerto for the Piano Alone, Op. 59 (1993): concerto for the piano alone, two movements; also scored for piano and symphony orchestra

  • Sonata in the Old Style (piano)

  • Fantasy for Piano, 3-hands, Op. 104 [piano, 2 players]


  • Aria, Op 144 solo double bass; inspired by a poem by Jouni Inkala; written for Teppo Haute-Aho for TeppoFest, Helsinki, Finland (2017)

  • A Little While, Op 143 for soprano voice, piano, double bass; setting of a poem by Emily Bronte (the same title)

  • Trochu Rondo, Op 141 for solo double bass, written for PostaFest (Prague, 2017)

  • Portraits, Op. 97 (five movements for violin & double bass) (written for British violinist, Catherine Lord, and British double bassist, David Heyes; premiered June 3rd, 2005)

  • Concerto for Double Bass, Horn, Timpani & Strings, Op. 87

  • "Love's Song," Op 87a (2nd Movement of concerto transcribed for double bass and piano)

  • "The Drums Must Never Stop" (salsa encore, 4 double basses)

  • The Great Leviathans: Prelude & Fugue for Six Contrabasses

  • Sonata in the Olden Style (two double basses and piano)

  • Dance Suite for Double Bass & Piano, Op. 95


  • String Quartet No. 1 (“Triste”) (1973): one movement

  • Meditations (1979), string quartet and guitar

  • String Quartet No. 2, Op. 61 (“In memoriam Dmitri Shostakovich”) (1993): two movements (Available from Amazon)

  • String Quartet No. 3 (“Homage to Alfred Schnittke”) (1994): four movements

  • String Quartet No. 4, Op. 59a (1994): arrangement of Concerto for Piano Alone for string quartet, two movements

  • String Quartet No. 5 (“Brandenburg”) (1996): three movements; composed at Künstlerhaus Schloss Wiepersdorf, Brandenburg/Germany

  • Villancicos, Op. 106: (soprano, string quartet) 3 15th c. Spanish love songs

  • “Like a Captive Lion,” Op. 110 (soprano, Bb Clarinet, string quartet) setting of 9 poems by Marina Tsvetaeva

  • The Old Masters for three string quartets, commissioned by The Cassatt Quartet through a grant of NewMusicUSA


  • Dichroism (1970): chorus, chamber chorus, percussion and piano, two movements

  • A Vision (1970): two percussionists, one movement

  • Two Preludes: piano and percussion, two players, two movements

  • Dona Nobis Pacem, Op. 107: concerto for timpani and string orchestra

  • Dance Concertare for Marimba/percussion & Orchestra, Op. 101



  • Der Spiegel (1996): two harps, one harpist, three movements; composed at Künstlerhaus Schloss Wiepersdorf, Brandenburg/Germany

  • "Pendulum Sweep the Slow Sky," elegy for violoncello & piano (in memory of Harish Mahindra)




Copyright Eric Funk, 2013